Ruth Bancroft: Inclusion pioneer

Year: 2019 — Province: British Columbia
Certificate of Achievement Recipient

Ruth Bancroft

Langara College Child Development Centre
Child care centre on college campus for children 18 months to 5 years
Vancouver, British Columbia

"She is practically magic in her style and ability in calming young children… [They] listen to her and bask in her unconditional positive regard. Similarly, adults also feel listened to and calmer after spending time in her presence. We think of her as a female 'Mr. Rogers.'"
— Nominator

Child care has truly been Ruth Bancroft's life. Starting in her mother's well-respected centre in Montréal, she has gone on to lead a thriving centre on a college campus, and has been a valued member of local, provincial and national education-focused organizations.

Philosophy of care

Inclusive practices are a mainstay of Ruth's philosophy, including for children with all types of special needs and for Indigenous teachers and culture in early childhood education. She is also a proponent for play-based learning, as having positive and lasting impacts on children.

Support of child development

  • Pioneered inclusion: has long reserved spaces for children with extra needs; encourages staff to get training to support children with serious medical needs; includes a peer in a child's one-on-one behaviour interventions to alleviate stigma and help develop relationships between the pair.
  • Expanded centre to include children 18 to 36 months, strongly encouraging staff to obtain additional training to have the theory behind the practice of working with this age group.
  • Capitalizes on staff strengths to provide diverse activities: educator with aptitude for teaching gross motor skills leads outdoor sports; another from an Indigenous background presents puppet plays based on stories from her tradition.
  • Developed 60 kits containing puppets and props to ease circle time for children whose first language is not English or who have special needs or attention issues.

Involvement with parents, families and the community

  • Builds strong relationships with families, accepting all without judgement or criticism: as a result, parents become open to receiving staff suggestions and pointers for supporting their child.
  • Opens centre to students from many fields to expose children to a wide range of activities and professions: they learn about hand washing and teeth brushing from public health students, physical motor skills from recreation students and reading from drama students.
  • Advocates for universal child care, with her centre being chosen to be part of provincial pilot project to reduce fees, providing significant financial relief to many families

Get in touch!

Langara College Child Development Centre
100 West 49th Avenue
Vancouver BC V5Y 2Z6

604-323-5662
rbancroft@langara.ca
https://langara.ca/campus-facilities/child-development-centre/index.html

Date modified:

Ruth Bancroft : Pionnier de l'inclusion

Année : 2019 — Province : Colombie-Britannique
Lauréat d'un Certificat d'honneur

Ruth Bancroft

Langara College Child Development Centre
Centre de garde d'enfants sur le campus du collège pour les enfants de un mois à dix ans
Vancouver (Colombie-Britannique)

« Elle est pratiquement magique dans son style et sa capacité à calmer les jeunes enfants...[Ils] l'écoutent et se prélassent dans son regard positif inconditionnel. De même, les adultes se sentent écoutés et plus calmes après avoir passé des moments en sa présence. Nous la considérons comme une femme, M. Rogers. »
— Proposant

Les services de garde d'enfants ont vraiment été la vie de Ruth Bancroft. Ayant commencé dans le centre très respecté de sa mère à Montréal, elle a dirigé un centre florissant sur le campus d'un collège et a été un membre apprécié d'agences locales, provinciales et nationales spécialisées dans l'éducation.

Sa conception des services de garde

Les pratiques inclusives sont un pilier de la philosophie de Ruth, y compris pour les enfants ayant tous types de besoins spéciaux et pour les enseignants et la culture autochtones dans l'éducation de la petite enfance. Elle est également une adepte de l'apprentissage par le jeu, car il a des effets positifs et durables sur les enfants.

Soutien au développement de l'enfant

  • Inclusion pionnière : a depuis longtemps des espaces réservés aux enfants ayant des besoins supplémentaires; encourage le personnel à recevoir une formation pour soutenir les enfants ayant des besoins médicaux graves; associe un pair dans les interventions comportementales individuelles d'un enfant pour atténuer la stigmatisation et aider à développer des relations entre le couple.
  • Elle a agrandi le centre pour accueillir des enfants de 18 à 36 mois, ce qui encourage fortement le personnel à obtenir une formation supplémentaire pour avoir la théorie derrière la pratique du travail avec ce groupe d'âge.
  • Elle mise sur les forces de son personnel pour offrir des activités diversifiées : une éducatrice ayant les aptitudes nécessaires pour enseigner la motricité globale dirige des sports de plein air; une autre d'origine autochtone présente des pièces de théâtre de marionnettes s'inspirant des histoires de ses propres traditions.
  • Élaboration de 60 trousses contenant des marionnettes et des accessoires pour faciliter le cercle des enfants dont la langue maternelle n'est pas l'anglais ou qui ont des besoins spéciaux ou des problèmes d'attention.

Coopération avec les parents, les familles et la communauté

  • Elle établit des relations solides avec les familles, en acceptant tout sans jugement ni critique, ce qui fait que les parents deviennent ouverts à recevoir les suggestions et les conseils du personnel pour soutenir leur enfant.
  • Le centre s'ouvre aux étudiants de nombreux domaines afin d'exposer les enfants à un large éventail d'activités et de professions : ils apprennent à se laver les mains et à se brosser les dents auprès d'étudiants en santé publique, les habiletés motrices physiques auprès d'étudiants en loisirs et la lecture auprès d'étudiants en théâtre.
  • Elle plaide en faveur de l'universalité des services de garde d'enfants, son centre ayant été choisi pour faire partie d'un projet pilote provincial visant à réduire les frais de garde, ce qui procurera un important allègement financier à de nombreuses familles.

Contactez-nous!

Langara College Child Development Centre
100 West 49th Avenue
Vancouver (Colombie-Britannique) V5Y 2Z6

604-323-5662
rbancroft@langara.ca
https://langara.ca/campus-facilities/child-development-centre/index.html

Date de modification :