Language selection

Search

2020 Recipients – Excellence in Early Childhood Education

Certificate of Excellence

Certificates of Excellence in Early Childhood Education

Alberta

Meghan Hetherington

Meghan Hetherington

Guided by the principles of community, empathy, literacy, creativity, kindness, movement and laughter, this well-known educator focuses on children's hearts and brains through play-based activities and by meeting individual children's needs.

Jennifer Vardy

Jennifer Vardy

A passionate advocate for early childhood education for Indigenous families on reserve, this educator believes Indigenous children deserve the support their parents and grandparents were denied—three times the hugs, cuddles and understanding.

New Brunswick

Lisa Brown

Lisa Brown

This educator cares for children in the town where she grew up, seeking to share the joys of spending plenty of time outdoors, while ensuring children are nurtured and loved, and have a chance to learn and grow in ways that suit them.

Nunavut

Leah Kippomee

Leah Kippomee

This adored community child caregiver now advocates for early childhood education across Nunavut, sharing a child-centred approach based on traditional knowledge and enriched with Montessori materials and practices—all to help overcome the legacy of the residential schools.

Ontario

Kim Posluns

Kim Posluns

In a "comprehensive Kindergarten" (30 percent of students have a behaviour disorder or regressed development), this experienced educator builds student relationships to promote oral communications, engages students with outdoor learning and art therapy, and champions overall wellness.

Certificate of Achievement

Certificate of Achievement Recipients

Alberta

Shaylene Saxton

Shaylene Saxton

Plenty of professional development and a study tour to New Zealand have helped sharpen this educator's focus on children's social and emotional development being as just as important as their academic, cognitive and physical skills.

Lynn Wytrykusz

Lynn Wytrykusz

Children build their sensory, motor and creative skills through hands-on play, while also improving their executive function through games that foster impulse control, flexible thinking and other abilities.

British Columbia

Naima Amalou

Naima Amalou

Carrying on a 40-year tradition of offering French-language early childhood education to children from non-French families, this educator places the children at the centre of everything she does through active listening, reciprocity and collaboration.

Carole Trudeau

Carole Trudeau

Having one-on-one time with each child every day helps this educator understand each child as an individual. She incorporates what she learns about their interests into class activities and helps children resolve their own conflicts.

Ines Tuzlukovic

Ines Tuzlukovic

This educator's background helping pregnant and parenting teenagers finish their high school education makes her an excellent resource for families. She fosters fellowship among parents, engages with new Canadians and launches community projects.

Manitoba

Arlene Flett

Arlene Flett

Fluent in both English and the local Indigenous language, this educator fosters Kindergartners' pride in their heritage. From setting up classroom snares for imaginary rabbits to organizing a pickerel fish fry, she engages children with familiar, age-appropriate activities.

Northwest Territories

Jennifer Kravitz

Jennifer Kravitz

Taking the lead from the children in her care, this educator helps children learn and grow, even when they're having a bad day. A whole day of pirate-themed activities resulted from children building a pirate ship out of a box; engaging learning centres give children their choice of activities.

Ontario

Brittney Bobbitt

Brittney Bobbitt

Even the youngest children in this educator's care (younger than 12 months) develop communications skills and life skills such as dressing themselves, all while spending the majority of the day outside having sensory experiences and developing their curiosity.

Pietra Salemi

Pietra Salemi

Toddlers enjoy activities as diverse as rock climbing, gardening and yoga in a large outdoor space. Individuals receive the particular care they need to develop, while those with special needs are treated equitably and participate fully.

Quebec

Jacinthe Côté

Jacinthe Côté

Over 40 years of experience and still has the same passion and dedication. The little ones in her care are her focus and she does whatever it takes to create fun environments that are conducive to learning.

View all recipients

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Lauréats de 2020 – Excellence en éducation de la petite enfance

Certificat d'excellence

Lauréate d'un Certificat d'excellence

Alberta

Meghan Hetherington

Meghan Hetherington

S'appuyant sur les principes de la communauté, de l'empathie, de l'alphabétisation, de la créativité, de la gentillesse, du mouvement et du rire, cette éducatrice bien connue met l'accent sur les cœurs et les cerveaux grâce à des activités axées sur le jeu et en répondant aux besoins particuliers de chaque enfant.

Jennifer Vardy

Jennifer Vardy

Militante passionnée pour l'éducation de la petite enfance visant les familles autochtones habitant dans des réserves, cette éducatrice croit que les enfants autochtones méritent de recevoir le soutien que leurs parents et grands-parents n'ont pas pu obtenir, c'est-à-dire trois fois plus de câlins, d'affection et de compréhension.

Nouveau-Brunswick

Lisa Brown

Lisa Brown

Cette éducatrice prend soin d'enfants dans la ville où elle a grandi. Elle tente de partager les joies de passer beaucoup de temps à l'extérieur tout en s'assurant que les enfants sont couvés et aimés et ont la chance d'apprendre et de grandir selon des façons qui leur conviennent.

Nunavut

Leah Kippomee

Leah Kippomee

Cette éducatrice adorée au sein de sa collectivité milite en faveur de l'éducation de la petite enfance pour tout le Nunavut, en partageant une approche axée sur l'enfant, fondée sur le savoir traditionnel et qui s'appuie sur des documents et des pratiques de la pédagogie Montessori, afin de venir à bout des séquelles des pensionnats.

Ontario

Kim Posluns

Kim Posluns

Dans une « maternelle globale » (30 p. 100 des élèves éprouvent un problème quelconque de comportement ou un retard de développement), cette éducatrice expérimentée bâtit des relations avec les élèves afin d'encourager les communications orales, d'intéresser les élèves à l'apprentissage à l'extérieur et à l'art-thérapie et se fait la championne du bien-être en général.

Certificat d'honneur

Lauréates d'un Certificat d'honneur

Alberta

Shaylene Saxton

Shaylene Saxton

Grâce à de nombreuses occasions de perfectionnement professionnel et un voyage d'études en Nouvelle-Zélande, cette éducatrice a pu se concentrer sur le développement social et émotif des enfants tout autant que sur leurs compétences scolaires, cognitives et physiques.

Lynn Wytrykusz

Lynn Wytrykusz

Les enfants développent leurs habiletés sensorielles, motrices et créatives grâce à des jeux pratiques tout en améliorant leurs fonctions exécutives par l'entremise de jeux qui favorisent le contrôle des pulsions, la pensée souple et d'autres compétences.

Colombie-Britannique

Naima Amalou

Naima Amalou

Offrant depuis 40 ans une éducation en français aux jeunes enfants de familles qui ne sont pas francophones, cette éducatrice place les enfants au cœur de tout ce qu'elle fait grâce à l'écoute active, à la réciprocité et à la collaboration.

Carole Trudeau

Carole Trudeau

Passer du temps seule avec chaque enfant tous les jours permet à cette éducatrice de comprendre l'enfant en tant que personne. Elle intègre ce qu'elle apprend au sujet des intérêts des enfants aux activités de la classe et aide les enfants à résoudre leurs propres conflits.

Ines Tuzlukovic

Ines Tuzlukovic

Grâce à son expérience d'aide auprès des adolescentes enceintes et mères pour qu'elles terminent leurs études secondaires, cette éducatrice constitue une excellente ressource pour les familles. Elle favorise le développement de liens entre les parents, fait participer les néo-Canadiens et met sur pied des projets communautaires. 

Manitoba

Arlene Flett

Arlene Flett

Maîtrisant à la fois l'anglais et la langue autochtone locale, cette éducatrice suscite la fierté des enfants à l'égard de leur patrimoine. Que ce soit en installant des pièges en classe pour des lièvres imaginaires ou en organisant un grill de brochet, elle intéresse les enfants grâce à des activités courantes et adaptées à leur âge.

Ontario

Brittney Bobbitt

Brittney Bobbitt

Même les plus jeunes enfants (de moins de 12 mois) sous les soins de cette éducatrice développent des habiletés de communication et des compétences de base comme la capacité de se vêtir, tout en passant la plus grande partie de leur journée à l'extérieur pour avoir des expériences sensorielles et développer leur curiosité.

Pietra Salemi

Pietra Salemi

Les bambins s'amusent pendant des activités aussi diversifiées que l'escalade, le jardinage et le yoga dans un grand espace extérieur. Les enfants reçoivent les soins particuliers dont ils ont besoin pour s'épanouir, alors que les enfants ayant des besoins spéciaux sont traités équitablement et participent à part entière.

Québec

Jacinthe Côté

Jacinthe Côté

Plus de 40 ans de métier et toujours la même passion et le même dévouement. Les tout-petits sous sa garde sont au cœur de ses préoccupations et elle ne compte pas ses heures pour créer des environnements ludiques et propices à l'apprentissage.

Territoires du nord-ouest

Jennifer Kravitz

Jennifer Kravitz

S'inspirant des enfants sous sa garde, cette éducatrice aide les enfants à apprendre et à grandir, même s'ils ont une mauvaise journée. Une journée entière d'activités sur le thème des pirates a permis aux enfants de construire un bateau de pirates à partir d'une boîte en carton. Des centres d'apprentissage intéressants offrent aux enfants des choix d'activités.

Voir tous les lauréats

Date de modification :