Consumer Impact Assessment

APPENDIX A:

Behavioural economics in policy and regulatory development

Over the past two decades, academics in economics, psychology, sociology and game theory have been conducting research on how consumers actually think about and make decisions in the marketplace.

All market participants suffer to some degree from "bounded rationality" because of limited time, information, and/or computational and cognitive abilities. This leads to behavioural biases such as the use of rules of thumb ("heuristics") or routine habit to make decisions in the marketplace, which may lead in turn to mistakes. Market forces and consumer education can help to correct these mistakes. Nonetheless, these mistakes can have significant and lasting negative effects on market decisions and outcomes, and business and economic performance. They also prevent consumers from playing their full role in activating competition and innovation in the marketplace.

Two Important Behavioural Biases1

There are a number of behavioural biases that have been identified that have an impact on the way consumers make decisions. Two of the most important behavioural factors that analysts should be aware of when selecting, designing and assessing policy responses are: 1) how consumers may react to information and choice overload, and 2) how consumers may respond to various ways choice offerings are framed, and defaults are set.

1. Information and product choice overload (too much of a good thing)

For some products and markets, too many choices and overly complex offerings can be confusing and de-motivating. Consumers may put off a difficult decision, use a “rule of thumb” to reduce the number of choices, or stick with their current supplier for fear of making the wrong decision or because sorting it all out seems overwhelming.

Governments, independent consumer groups and other non-government organizations often provide policy responses to this situation by providing online calculators and other tools that help the consumer to wade through the complex and sometimes contradictory information. In other cases, very specific and simple disclosures tailored to an individual’s circumstances may be required to focus the consumer’s attention on key decision-making issues – for example, the long term cost of making a minimum payment on a credit card bill. Instruments such as these enable consumers to make more informed choices that yield them the highest benefit given their individual circumstances.

2. Framing effects

Consumer decisions are influenced by how information is presented, or framed, in contracts, advertising and sales pitches. How default options are defined and presented (consumers may endow the default option with positive attributes that it may not have), and whether a choice is presented as a loss or gain, or as a low-risk or high-risk, can radically influence the decision a consumer makes.

Implications for Policy Analysts

Analysts who have reason to believe that policy initiatives will fall short of their intended objectives due to activation of the above behavioural biases may wish to pay particular attention to how information interventions are designed and how choices are framed, and defaults set, when the policy change is rolled out to the public.

The excerpt below from the OECD’s Consumer Policy Toolkit gives examples where insights from behavioural work can help governments implement more effective policies.

Information interventions

"One type of policy intervention is to provide consumers with more information about a product or service, either directly or by mandating that sellers disclose information. In order to be effective, these types of interventions must be thought through carefully. For reasons that can be attributed either to traditional models of costly information search and processing or to behavioural models, more information is not always better for consumers. Additional information may distract consumers from more important factors, and it may overwhelm consumers and cause them to make decisions with less reflection rather than more. For example, in the United States, recently developed food-nutrition labels actually provide less information than previous labels, as a way of encouraging consumers to focus on the most important contents of food.2 In the financial area, regulation requires United States credit card companies to present key information to consumers in a table, in prescribed type sizes.3 Many countries have adopted very short, and often graphic, health warnings for cigarettes."

Default setting and framing

"Two clear examples of the importance of default setting in the context of consumer decision making are the adoption of “no-fault” automobile insurance and the sale of reserved seats on trains. In the 1990s, two American states, New Jersey and Pennsylvania, adopted new automobile insurance regulations that gave drivers the option of purchasing lower-cost insurance that limited their rights to sue in the case of an accident ('no-fault' insurance). In New Jersey, the lower-cost, “no-fault,” policy was the default, while in Pennsylvania the higher-cost option was the default. Some 70% of Pennsylvania drivers purchased the higher-cost policies, versus only 21% of New Jersey drivers.4 Even more dramatically, a national railway in Europe found that the share of online reservations that included a reserved seat rose by five-fold when the default was changed from “no reserved seat” to the more expensive 'reserved seat'.5 Finally, recent research on retirement savings in four countries shows how defaults influence retirement savings outcomes at all stages of the savings lifecycle, including savings plan participation, savings rates, asset allocation, and post-retirement savings distributions.6

In response to concerns about the role of defaults, the European Parliament and the Council have proposed a Directive on consumer rights which includes a clause limiting the use of default options in consumer contracts.7 Specifically, sellers would be required to obtain express consent from consumers for any payment that is in addition to the payment for the main contractual obligation, and could not rely on default options that require buyers to reject those options to avoid payment.

As discussed above, consumers sometimes “fail to choose” when presented with a large number of possible choices. This will leave them with the default option or status quo. It should be noted that, in most cases, private sellers want to avoid this situation, as consumers who fail to choose are consumers who fail to buy. For government policy makers, however, this means that if a programme’s goal is for consumers to make their own choices, the choices must be presented in a way that is manageable, both in terms of the number of choices and the way information is presented."

FOR FURTHER READING

Bertrand, M., Karlan, D., Mullainathan, S., Shafir, E., and Zinman, A. (2005). What’s Psychology Worth? A Field Experiment in the Consumer Credit Market. Economic Growth Center, Yale University, Discussion Paper 918.

Bertrand, M., Mullainathan, S., and Shafir, E. (2006). Behavioural Economics and Marketing in Aid of Decision- Making Among the Poor. Journal of Public Policy and Marketing, Vol. 25, No. 1.

Evans, P. (2008). In Search of the Marginal Consumer: The FIPRA Study. The FIPRA Group, Belgium, April 2008.

Gans, J. S. (2005:1). Protecting Consumers by Protecting Competition: Does Behavioral Economics Support This Contention? Competition AND Consumer Law Journal, 13, 1-11.

Gans, J. S. (2005:2). The Road to Confusopoly. Available on the Australia Competition and Consumer Commission (ACCC) Conference Website at http://www.accc.gov.au/content/index.phtml/itemId/658141/ fromItemId/3765.

Ireland, D. (2008). Empirical Research on Competition, Innovation and the Consumer. Prepared for the Office of Consumer Affairs, Industry Canada.

Iyengar, S. and Lepper, M. (2000). When Choice is Demotivating: Can One Desire Too Much of a Good Thing? Journal of Personality and Social Psychology Vol. 79 (6).

Johnson, E. J., Hershey, J., Meszaros, J., and Kunreuther, H. (1993). Framing, Probability Distortions, and Insurance Decisions. Journal of Risk and Uncertainty, Vol. 7 pp. 35-51.

Kahneman, D. (1994). New Challenges to the Rationality Assumption. Journal of Institutional and Theoretical Economics, 150, 18-36.

Kahneman, D., and Tversky, A. (1979). Prospect Theory: An Analysis of Decision under Risk. Econometrica, 47, 263-291.

OECD. (2010). Consumer Policy Toolkit. Paris.

Thaler, H. and Sunstein, C. R. (2008). Nudge: Improving Decisions About Health, Wealth and Happiness, Yale University Press, New Haven AND London.

Tversky, A., and Kahneman, D. (1991). Loss Aversion in Riskless Choice: A Reference Dependent Model Quarterly Journal of Economics, 106, 1039-1061.

Previous   Table of Contents   Next


Footnotes:

1 Refer to further reading list and other footnotes in this Annex for more information about behavioural economics.

2 USFTC (2008). Marketing Food to Children and Adolescents. July, available at www.ftc.gov/os/2008/07/P064504foodmktingreport.pdf.

3 USFRB (United States Federal Reserve Board) (2000). Federal Reserve System: 12 CFR Part 226 (Regulation Z; Docket No. R-1070), Truth in Lending – Final Rule, September 27, available at www.federalreserve.gov/boarddocs/press/boardacts/2000/20000928/attachment.pdf.

4 Johnson, E. J., Hershey, J., Meszaros, J. AND Kunreuther, H., A. (1993). Framing, Probability Distortions and Insurance Decisions. Journal of Risk and Uncertainty, 7, 35-53.

5 Goldstein, D. G., Johnson, E.I., Herrmann, A. and Heitmann, M. (2008). Nudge Your Customers Toward Better Choices. Harvard Business Review, 86(12), 99-105.

6 Beshears, J., Choi, J.J., Laibson, D., and Madrian, B.C. (2006). The Importance of Default Options for Retirement Savings Outcomes: Evidence from the United States, National Bureau of Economic Research, Working Paper 12009, January, www.nber.org/papers/w12009.

7 European Commission (2008). Proposal for a Directive of the European Parliament and the Council on Consumer Rights. COM(2008) 614/3, October 8, www.ec.europa.eu/consumers/rights/docs/Directive_final_EN.pdf.

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Guide d'évaluation des répercussions sur les consommateurs

ANNEXE A :

L’économie comportementale et l’élaboration de politiques et de règlements

Au cours des deux dernières décennies, des universitaires spécialisés en économie, en psychologie, en sociologie et en théorie des jeux se sont intéressés, dans le cadre de travaux de recherche, à la façon dont les consommateurs prenaient des décisions sur le marché et percevaient celui-ci.

Dans une certaine mesure, tous les participants au marché subissent les effets de la « rationalité circonscrite » parce que le temps et l’information dont ils disposent, et/ou leurs compétences en informatique et leurs habilités cognitives sont limités. Cela les amène à adopter des biais comportementaux comme l'application de règles heuristiques ou encore à se laisser guider par leurs habitudes dans leur choix de consommation et à commettre les erreurs qui pourraient en découler. Les forces du marché et la sensibilisation du consommateur peuvent aider à corriger de telles erreurs. Néanmoins, ces erreurs peuvent être importantes et avoir des effets négatifs durables sur les décisions et les résultats du marché ainsi que sur le rendement des entreprises et de l’économie. Elles empêchent également les consommateurs de jouer pleinement leur rôle de catalyseur de la concurrence et de l’innovation dans le marché.

Deux biais comportementaux importants1

Un certain nombre des biais comportementaux qui ont été cernés ont une incidence sur la façon dont les consommateurs prennent des décisions. Deux des facteurs comportementaux importants dont les analystes devraient tenir compte lorsqu’ils choisissent, élaborent et évaluent des réponses à la politique sont les suivants : 1) comment les consommateurs peuvent réagir à la surabondance d’information et de choix, et 2) comment les consommateurs peuvent répondre aux diverses façons dont les options sont encadrées, et dont les options par défaut sont établies.

1. Surabondance d’information et choix trop vaste de produits (la satiété engendre le dégoût)

Dans le cas de certains produits et marchés, un choix trop vaste et complexe peut engendrer la confusion et la procrastination. Les consommateurs peuvent reporter une décision difficile, appliquer une règle heuristique pour réduire le nombre de choix ou s’en tenir au même fournisseur de crainte de prendre une mauvaise décision ou parce que démêler tout cela les dépasse.

Les gouvernements, les groupes indépendants de protection des consommateurs et d’autres organismes non gouvernementaux offrent souvent comme réponses stratégiques à cette situation des calculatrices en ligne et d’autres outils qui aident le consommateur à se frayer un chemin dans l’information complexe et parfois contradictoire. Dans d’autres cas, des divulgations d’information très simples et spécifiques conçues pour répondre à des situations particulières peuvent être nécessaires pour attirer l’attention du consommateur sur des questions clés entourant la prise de décisions – à titre d’exemple, le coût à long terme du paiement minimum du solde d’une carte de crédit. Des instruments comme ceux-ci permettent aux consommateurs de prendre des décisions plus éclairées qui leur procureront de plus grands avantages compte tenu de leur situation particulière.

2. Effets de cadrage

Les décisions des consommateurs sont influencées par la façon dont l’information est présentée, ou encadrée, dans les contrats, les messages publicitaires et les exposés des vendeurs. La façon dont les options par défaut sont définies et présentées (les consommateurs peuvent doter l’option par défaut d’attributs positifs qu’elle pourrait ne pas avoir) et le fait que le choix soit présenté comme une perte ou un gain ou un risque faible ou élevé peuvent influencer radicalement la décision qu’un consommateur prendra.

RÉPERCUSSIONS POUR LES ANALYSTES DE LA POLITIQUE

Les analystes qui ont raison de croire que les initiatives stratégiques n’atteindront pas les objectifs visés compte tenu de l’activation des biais comportementaux décrits précédemment pourraient vouloir porter une attention particulière à la façon dont les interventions en matière d’information sont conçues, les choix sont présentés et les options par défaut sont établies lorsque le changement de politique est présenté au public.

L’extrait ci-après du Guide pour le développement des politiques de consommation de l’OCDE donne des exemples de situations où les points saillants d’études sur le comportement peuvent aider les gouvernements à mettre en place des politiques plus efficaces.

Interventions en matière d’information

«Un type d’intervention politique consiste à fournir aux consommateurs davantage d’information au sujet d’un produit ou d’un service, directement ou en donnant aux vendeurs le mandat de transmettre l’information. Pour être efficaces, ces types d’interventions doivent être documentées et conçues avec attention. Pour des raisons qui sont peut-être attribuables aux modèles traditionnels de recherche et de traitement d’information coûteux ou aux modèles comportementaux, offrir davantage d’information aux consommateurs n’est pas toujours la meilleure solution. De l’information supplémentaire peut éloigner les consommateurs de facteurs plus importants, les submerger et les mener à prendre plutôt des décisions moins réfléchies. À titre d’exemple, aux États-Unis, des étiquettes nutritionnelles récemment mises au point fournissent actuellement moins d’information que les étiquettes utilisées antérieurement, dans le but d’inciter les consommateurs à se concentrer sur le composant plus important de l’aliment.2 Dans le domaine financier, la réglementation exige que les sociétés américaines qui émettent des cartes de crédit présentent aux consommateurs l’information clé sous forme de tableau, en utilisant des grosseurs de caractères prescrites.3 De nombreux pays ont adopté des mises en garde sur la santé très brèves, et souvent imagées, par rapport à la cigarette.»

Établissement et cadrage des options par défaut

«Deux exemples illustrent clairement l’importance de l’établissement d’options par défaut dans le contexte de la prise de décision de la part des consommateurs : l’adoption de l’assurance automobile ‹ sans égard à la faute › et de la vente de sièges réservés dans les trains. Dans les années 1990, deux États américains, le New Jersey et la Pennsylvanie, ont adopté une nouvelle réglementation en matière d’assurance automobile qui donnait aux chauffeurs la possibilité de se procurer une assurance à moindre coût qui limitait leurs droits de poursuivre dans le cas d’un accident (assurance ‹ sans égard à la faute ›). Au New Jersey, la police d’assurance ‹ sans égard à la faute ›, à moindre coût, était l’option par défaut, tandis qu’en Pennsylvanie, la police à coût plus élevé était l’option par défaut. Quelque 70 % des chauffeurs en Pennsylvanie se sont procuré une police d’assurance à coût plus élevé, par rapport à 21 % seulement au New Jersey.4 Pire encore, une compagnie ferroviaire nationale en Europe a découvert que la part des réservations en ligne qui comportaient un siège réservé s’est multipliée par cinq lorsque l’option par défaut est passée de « aucun siège réservé » à l’option plus coûteuse de ‹ siège réservé ›.5 Finalement, une recherche récente sur l’épargne-retraite menée dans quatre pays montre comment les options par défaut ont une incidence sur les résultats de l’épargneretraite à toutes les étapes du cycle de vie de l’épargne, y compris la participation à un régime d’épargne, les taux d’épargne, l’affectation de l’actif et les répartitions de l’épargne à la retraite.6

En réponse aux préoccupations liées au rôle des options par défaut, le Parlement et le Conseil européens ont proposé une Directive relative aux droits des consommateurs, qui comprend une disposition qui limite l’utilisation des options par défaut dans les contrats de consommations.7 De façon spécifique, les vendeurs doivent obtenir l’assentiment exprès des consommateurs à tout paiement en sus du paiement prévu au titre de l’obligation contractuelle principale, et ils ne peuvent s’appuyer sur les options par défaut qui obligent les acheteurs à renoncer à de telles options pour éviter le paiement.

Tel que déjà mentionné, il arrive que les consommateurs ‹ ne choisissent pas › lorsqu’on leur présente une grande possibilité de choix. Ils seront alors confrontés à l’option par défaut ou au statu quo. Il faut noter que, dans la plupart des cas, les vendeurs privés désirent éviter une telle situation, puisque les consommateurs qui ne choisissent pas sont des consommateurs qui n’achètent pas. Toutefois, pour les décideurs gouvernementaux, cela signifie que si l’objectif d’un programme est de faire en sorte que les consommateurs fassent leurs propres choix, les choix doivent être présentés de façon gérable, tant pour ce qui est du nombre de choix que de la façon dont l’information est présentée.»

LECTURE COMPLÉMENTAIRE

BERTRAND, M., D. Karlan, S. MULLAINATHAN, E. SHAFIR, E. et A. ZINMAN. What’s Psychology Worth? A Field Experiment in the Consumer Credit Market. Economic Growth Center, Yale University, document de travail 918. 2005.

BERTRAND, M., S. MULLAINATHAN, et E. SHAFIR. Behavioural Economics and Marketing in Aid of Decision- Making Among the Poor. « Journal of Public Policy and Marketing. » vol. 25, nº 1. 2006.

EVANS, Phil. In Search of the Marginal Consumer: The FIPRA Study. The FIPRA Group, Belgique, avril 2008.

GANS, Joshua S. Protecting Consumers by Protecting Competition: Does Behavioural Economics Support This Contention?. « Competition AND Consumer Law Journal. » 13, 1-11. 2005.

GANS, Joshua S. The Road to Confusopoly, accessible en ligne sur le site de la conférence de la Australia Competition and Consumer Commission (ACCC). 2005. http://www.accc.gov.au/content/index.phtml/itemId/ 658141/fromItemId/3765.

IRELAND, Derek. Empirical Research on Competition, Innovation and the Consumer, préparé pour le compte du Bureau de la consommation, Industrie Canada. 2008.

IYENGAR S. et M. LEPPER. When Choice is Demotivating: Can One Desire Too Much of a Good Thing?. « Journal of Personality and Social Psychology. » vol. 79 (6). 2000.

JOHNSON, Eric J., John HERSHEY, Jacqueline MESZAROS et Howard KUNREUTHER. Framing, Probability Distortions, and Insurance Decisions. « Journal of Risk and Uncertainty. » vol. 7 pp. 35-51. 1993.

KAHNEMAN, D. New Challenges to the Rationality Assumption. « Journal of Institutional and Theoretical Economics ». 150, 18-36. 1994.

KAHNEMAN, D. et A. Tversky. Prospect Theory: An Analysis of Decision under Risk. « Econometrica. » 47, 263-291. 1979.

OCDE. Guide pour le développement des politiques de consommation. Paris. 2010.

THALER, Richard H. et Cass R. SUNSTEIN. Nudge: Improving Decisions About Health, Wealth and Happiness. Yale University Press, New Haven and London. 2008.

TVERSKY, A. et D. KAHNEMAN. Loss Aversion in Riskless Choice: A Reference Dependent Model. « Quarterly Journal of Economics. » 106, 1039-1061. 1991.

Précédent   Table des matières   Suivant


Footnotes:

1 Se reporter à la liste des ouvrages de lecture complémentaire et aux autres notes en bas de page de la présente annexe pour obtenir plus d’information au sujet de l’économie comportementale.

2 USFTC, Marketing Food to Children and Adolescents. 2008. Disponible à www.ftc.gov/os/2008/07/P064504foodmktingreport.pdf.

3 USFRB (United States Federal Reserve Board), Federal Reserve System: 12 CFR Part 226 (Regulation Z; Docket No. R-1070), Truth in Lending – Final Rule. 27 septembre 2000. Disponible à www.federalreserve.gov/boarddocs/press/boardacts/2000/20000928/attachment.pdf.

4 JOHNSON, Eric J., John HERSHEY, Jaqueline MESZAROS et Howard KUNREUTHER. Framing, Probability Distortions and Insurance Decisions. « Journal of Risk and Uncertainty », 7, 35-53. 1993.

5 GOLDSTEIN, Daniel G., Eric J. JOHNSON, Andreas HERRMANN et Mark HEITMANN. Nudge Your Customers Toward Better Choices. « Harvard Business Review », 86(12), 99-105. 2008.

6 BESHEARS, John, James J. CHOI, David LAIBSON et Brigitte C. MADRIAN. The Importance of Default Options for Retirement Savings Outcomes: Evidence from the United States. National Bureau of Economic Research, document de travail 12009, janvier 2006. Disponible à www.nber.org/papers/w12009.

7 Commission des communautés européennes. Proposition de Directive du Parlement européen et du Conseil relative aux droits des consommateurs. COM(2008) 614/final, 8 octobre 2008. Disponible à www.ec.europa.eu/consumers/rights/docs/Directive_final_FR.pdf.

Date de modification :