Radio-Frequency Identification (RFID) in the Retail Marketplace

What Canadian Consumers Need to Know

RFID stands for Radio Frequency Identification — a technology whose use is growing fast, and which has major implications for consumers, particularly with regard to privacy.

What is RFID technology?

Photo of Radio Frequency Identification tag

As its name implies, RFID is an ID-identification-system. It relies on a small chip that is implanted in a tag. The chip can record and store data, such as a serial number, price or purchase record. The tag can be attached to all sorts of things: merchandise, shipping containers, vehicles, even pet or animal collars. Then, an electronic scanner can use radio signals to read or track the ID tag.

For example, a warehouse worker might use a hand-held RFID reader to check inventory. The data on the tags scanned might only be numbers, but once scanned, the numbers can be checked against a computer database, and the company will know exactly what it has on hand.

RFID technology was created during the Second World War to identify friendly aircraft, but it is only recently that its use has been commercialized — and has virtually exploded in popularity. Chances are that you have already encountered quite a few RFID-enabled products. These might include:

  • car keys with an anti-theft chip, that need a valid code to start your car;
  • automated highway tollbooths that can automatically read transponders installed in the vehicles of frequent users (these are in use on Toronto's Highway 407); and
  • the Speedpass (TM) keychain, which automatically debits your bank account or credit card when you pump your own gas.

It is important for consumers to know about RFID, particularly because it is the technology used by the Electronic Product Code (EPC) system. EPC is replacing bar codes, those parallel bars and spaces found on products and price tags, which are scanned at a store's cash register.

What is the difference between a traditional bar code and an RFID/EPC tag?

While their basic uses are similar, there are some important differences between the old and the emerging product code systems:

  • Item rather than product-level tagging. Because RFID/EPC tags have a computer chip with its own electronic memory, each tag can have its own individual identification code-this is beyond the capacity of the traditional printed bar code symbol. Thus, RFID/EPC tags can separately identify and track every individual item. Bar codes, on the other hand, can only identify the product class that an item belongs to. For example, a stack of DVD players sitting on a store shelf could all be the same model, in the same kind of box, and sell at the same price. At present, they would all have the same bar code printed on their boxes or labels; this would indicate merely that they were all the same type of DVD player. In the near future, each could have its own unique RFID/EPC tag, and carry an individual identity code. The store will accordingly be able to track exactly which DVD player is where.
  • Increased scanning power. Traditional bar code technology uses a light-based reader that must shine directly on a tag to be read by the scanner. Because RFID technology uses radio waves, the tag's signal simply has to be within a certain distance, for the reader to make the scan-and reader and tag do not have to make an individualized connection. This means that:
    • More than one RFID/EPC tag can be read at the same time;
    • The reading can be done even if the tag is inside a box or implanted into a product; and
    • The reader can be fixed to a wall, since it does not have to be in direct line of sight with, and "see," a specific tag. Therefore one strategically located reader could replace several, even many, old-style bar code scanners.

Not all retail tags are RFID-based

Not all electronic tags on retail goods are RFID/EPC tags. They may instead be radio frequency (RF) security tags. RF security tags do not have a unique identification number, and do not store data or allow linkages to other databases. These use radio signals to send a code to the store’s security system, and trigger an alarm when a product leaves the premises without the tag having been deactivated.

How is RFID now being used in retail?

At present, RFID tags and systems are relatively costly, and are not yet found on inexpensive items. However, some interesting retail pilot projects are already under way:

  • Continuous "live" store inventory. Retailers can gain real-time detailed information on their stock through an on-going automatic scan system in warehouses and stores. This is much more efficient than having an employee manually check inventory on shelves, and could eventually cut costs and improve consumers' experiences in stores, through better stocking and supplies.
  • Simultaneous "one shot" scanning of goods at the cash. For example, everything in a consumer's grocery cart can be scanned all at once, while still in the cart-no need to remove items for check-out. This could speed things up at the grocery store.

Other uses

Use of RFID isn't limited to the retail sector. The pharmaceutical industry is already exploring how RFID tags could help identify counterfeit, and potentially harmful, drugs. Some have suggested that RFID monitoring of seniors' nutrition habits or use of appliances could make it easier for people to keep living in their own homes, instead of moving to care facilities before they actually need to. Airports may also find a use for RFID tags, to automatically detect luggage loading errors before bags go astray. Further investigation is required before any of these uses could actually become common.

RF emissions and your safety

According to the European Commission, RFIDs are relatively low powered, compared to other wireless applications such as cellphones, broadcast media, and radar. Thus RFIDs may pose a lower level of risk to health than most other common wireless devices. With respect to consumer products, harmful health effects that may result from exposure to wireless magnetic fields have not been documented at this point, however controversy exists in this field.

How could RFID affect privacy?

RFID technology poses some challenges for consumers.

RFID tags can be very small, and the reader can be located where you can't see it. This can make it hard for a consumer to even know that RFID is being used by a store.

When you do find an RFID tag on your purchase, you can't tell by looking at it whether the tag is still communicating its data, or has been turned off. It is theoretically possible that a tag can continue to be read, even after a product is paid for and taken from the store.

An RFID tag used for inventory control might only contain information about the product concerned. However, the potential exists for a computer system to link this product data with personal information, as it is collected with every swipe of a credit, debit or loyalty card. RFID technology could make possible the creation of a detailed profile of an individual consumer's buying habits.

RFID is a new and unfamiliar technology, and it is understandable that consumers might have questions about it, or be to a certain degree uncomfortable with it. Consumers should not hesitate to ask for more information and clear explanations from retailers who use the technology.

Some questions you might want to ask if you encounter an RFID tag

What information is stored on the tag? What is the tag linked to? What is the company using the tag for?
Is the tag still activated, and who can read it? How can I determine precisely when and how it is turned off?
If the tag contains, or can be linked to, my personal information, what measures do you have in place to secure my privacy? And why do you need to have my personal information on a database?

What is being done to protect my privacy?

Your privacy rights are protected by Canada's privacy legislation, which will apply to any future RFID applications that hold or become linked with personal information.

Under the federal Personal Information Protection and Electronic Documents Act (PIPEDA), there are ground rules that govern how organizations may collect, use or disclose personal information gained in the course of commercial activities. Those living in Québec, Alberta and British Columbia can also refer to their jurisdiction's provincial personal information Act.

Ongoing discussions are also taking place, in Canada and internationally, about technological standards for RFID tags and systems; such standards could offer further protections for consumer privacy.

Adopted in January 2005, Canadian EPC voluntary public policy guidelines have several rules for businesses that use RFID/EPC tags on consumer products. The guidelines include the following:

  • Consumers should be told when EPC/RFID technology is being used;
  • Consumers should have the choice of allowing the tag to remain activated, or of turning off and disposing of the tag after purchase; and
  • Consumers should have control over the information that the store's computer system retains about them.

Logo that must appear on product and packaging using EPC tags

Electronic Product Code label in black Electronic Product Code label in color
Black and White and Color Version
Source: GS1 Canada

As the use of RFID technology expands, so will consumers' questions about it. This article has been an introductory overview only — Canadians should keep asking for further information from governments, consumer organizations, and businesses.

For further information, start by having a look at the following websites.

Office of the Privacy Commissioner of Canada
Information and Privacy Commissioner of Ontario
Guidelines for EPC on Consumer Products

Canada's Office of Consumer Affairs encourages you to be an informed consumer!

L’Identification par radiofréquence (RFID) sur le marché du détail

From: Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada

Ce que les consommateurs canadiens doivent savoir

Version PDF
(130 Ko, 5 pages)

Lecteurs PDF

RFID signifie Radio Frequency Identification, soit l'identification par radiofréquence — une technologie dont l'utilisation se répand rapidement, et qui a une incidence importante sur les consommateurs, en particulier en ce qui a trait à la protection de la vie privée.

Qu'est-ce que la technologie RFID?

Photo de la puce RFID

Comme son nom l'indique, la RFID est un système d'identification. Elle utilise une petite puce implantée dans une étiquette. La puce peut enregistrer et garder en mémoire des données, comme un numéro de série, un prix ou un relevé d'achat. L'étiquette peut être attachée à toutes sortes de choses : marchandise, conteneurs d'expédition, véhicules, même à des animaux de compagnie ou à des colliers destinés au bétail. Un lecteur électronique peut utiliser ensuite des signaux radio pour lire ou faire le suivi d'une étiquette d'identification.

À titre d'exemple, l'employé d'un entrepôt peut se servir d'un lecteur RFID portatif pour vérifier l'inventaire. Les données sur les étiquettes lues optiquement peuvent être uniquement des chiffres, mais une fois balayés, les chiffres peuvent être comparés à une base de données, et l'employé saura exactement ce qu'il a en inventaire.

La technologie RFID a été créée au cours de la Deuxième Guerre mondiale pour identifier les avions amis, mais ce n'est que récemment que son utilisation a été commercialisée — et que sa popularité a connu une croissance phénoménale. Vous avez déjà sans doute eu l'occasion d'être confronté à de nombreux produits identifiés par la RFID.
Il peut s'agir :

Il est important que les consommateurs connaissent la RFID, notamment parce qu'il s'agit de la technologie utilisée par le système du code produit électronique ou l'EPC (Electronic Product Code). L'EPC remplace les codes à barres, ces barres et espaces parallèles qui se trouvent sur les produits et les étiquettes de prix, et qui sont lues à la caisse d'un magasin.

Quelle est la différence entre un code à barres traditionnel et une étiquette RFID/EPC?

Bien que leurs utilisations de base soient semblables, il existe d'importantes différences entre les anciens et les nouveaux systèmes de code produit :

Les étiquettes de vente n'ont pas toutes recours à la RFID

Ce ne sont pas toutes les étiquettes électroniques se trouvant sur les articles vendus au détail qui ont recours à la RFID/EPC. Il peut s'agir aussi d'étiquettes de sécurité par radiofréquence (RF). Les étiquettes de sécurité par RF ne portent pas de numéro d'identification unique et n'emmagasinent pas de données, pas plus d'ailleurs qu'elles ne permettent d'en échanger avec d'autres bases de données.
Elle utilise plutôt des signaux radio pour transmettre un code au système de sécurité du magasin, et déclenche une alarme lorsque le produit quitte les lieux sans que l'étiquette ait été désactivée.

Comment la technologie RFID est-elle utilisée actuellement chez les détaillants?

Actuellement, les systèmes et les étiquettes RFID coûtent relativement cher, et ces dernières ne se retrouvent pas sur les articles peu coûteux. Toutefois, certains projets pilotes de vente au détail sont déjà en cours :

Autres applications

L'utilisation de la technologie RFID ne se limite pas au secteur du détail. L'industrie des produits pharmaceutiques explore déjà la façon dont les étiquettes RFID pourraient aider à détecter la contrefaçon et possiblement les remèdes dangereux. Certains ont suggéré que la surveillance RFID des habitudes alimentaires des personnes âgées ou leur utilisation des appareils ménagers pourrait faciliter leur maintien à domicile plutôt que de les déplacer dans des établissements de soins avant même qu'ils en aient réellement besoin. Les aéroports pourraient également avoir recours aux étiquettes RFID pour détecter automatiquement les erreurs de chargement des bagages avant qu'ils ne soient égarés. Une recherche plus poussée est nécessaire avant que de telles applications deviennent courantes.

Les émissions RF et votre sécurité

Selon la Commission européenne, les applications de la RFID sont relativement peu réglementées par rapport à d'autres applications sans fil comme les téléphones cellulaires, les médias électroniques et les radars. Or, les applications RFID pourraient poser un risque moins élevé sur la santé que la plupart des autres appareils sans fil courants. En ce qui a trait aux produits de consommation, les effets nuisibles à la santé découlant de l'exposition à des champs magnétiques n'ont pas encore été documentés à ce jour. Toutefois, il existe une controverse à cet égard.

Comment la RFID touche-t-elle la vie privée?

La technologie RFID pose certaines difficultés aux consommateurs.

Les étiquettes RFID peuvent être très petites, et le lecteur peut être placé là où il est peu visible. Il devient alors difficile pour un consommateur de savoir que la RFID est utilisée dans le magasin.

Lorsque vous trouvez une étiquette RFID sur l'article que vous avez acheté, vous ne pouvez savoir uniquement en le regardant si l'étiquette continue de transmettre des données, ou si elle a été désactivée. En théorie, il est possible qu'une étiquette continue d'être lue, même après qu'un article soit payé et qu'il soit sorti du magasin.

Une étiquette RFID utilisée à des fins de contrôle d'inventaire peut ne contenir que de l'information relative au produit en question. Toutefois, il est possible qu'un système informatique établisse un lien entre les données relatives à ce produit et des renseignements personnels, puisque ceux-ci sont recueillis chaque fois qu'une carte de crédit, de débit ou de fidélité est utilisée. La technologie RFID pourrait servir à la création du profil détaillé des habitudes d'achat d'un consommateur en particulier.

La RFID est une nouvelle technologie peu connue, et il est naturel que les consommateurs veuillent se renseigner ou qu'ils se sentent quelque peu mal à l'aise à son sujet. Les consommateurs ne devraient pas hésiter à demander davantage d'information et d'explications claires aux détaillants qui se servent d'une telle technologie.

Certaines questions que vous voudriez peut-être poser
au sujet d'une étiquette RFID

Quelle information est sauvegardée sur l'étiquette? À quoi l'étiquette est-elle rattachée? À quelles fins l'entreprise se sert-elle de l'étiquette?
L'étiquette est-elle encore active et qui peut la lire? Comment puis-je déterminer quand et comment elle est désactivée?
Si l'étiquette contient ou peut être reliée à mes renseignements personnels, quelles mesures sont en place pour protéger ma vie privée? Et pourquoi devez-vous conserver mes renseignements personnels dans une base de données?

Quelles sont les mesures prises pour protéger ma vie privée?

Vos droits en matière de protection des renseignements personnels sont protégés en vertu de la législation canadienne relative à la protection de la vie privée, qui s'appliquera à toutes nouvelles applications RFID qui contiendront ou qui seront liées à des renseignements personnels.

En vertu de la Loi fédérale sur la protection des renseignements personnels et les documents électroniques (LPRPDÉ), il existe des principes fondamentaux qui régissent la façon dont les organismes peuvent recueillir, utiliser ou divulguer les renseignements personnels obtenus dans le cadre d'activités commerciales. Les personnes qui vivent au Québec, en Alberta et en Colombie-Britannique peuvent aussi se reporter à la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels de leur province.

Des discussions constantes, au Canada comme ailleurs dans le monde, ont cours relativement aux normes technologiques à appliquer aux étiquettes et aux systèmes RFID; de telles normes pourraient protéger davantage la vie privée des consommateurs.

Adoptées en janvier 2005, les directives gouvernementales facultatives canadiennes relatives au code produit électronique (EPC) comptent de nombreuses règles visant les entreprises qui apposent des étiquettes RFID/EPC sur les produits de consommation. Parmi ces directives, en voici quelques-unes :

Au fur et à mesure que l'utilisation de la technologie RFID se répand, les questions des consommateurs à son sujet se multiplieront. Cet article ne se veut qu'un aperçu d'introduction-les Canadiens doivent continuer de se renseigner auprès des gouvernements, des organismes de défense des consommateurs et des entreprises.

Logo qui doit apparaître sur les produits et les emballages munis d'une étiquette EPC

Étiquette EPC en noirÉtiquette EPC en couleur
Noir et blanc et version couleur
Source: GS1 Canada

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, veuillez d'abord consulter les sites Web suivants.

Commissariat à la protection de la vie privée du Canada
Commissaire à l'information et à la protection de la vie privée de l'Ontario (en anglais)
Guidelines for EPC on Consumer Products (en anglais)

Le Bureau de la consommation vous encourage à être un consommateur averti!

Date de modification :