Language selection

Search

Intellectual Property (IP) Legal Clinics Program Guide

From: Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada

PDF Version

Table of contents

The IP legal clinics program and the IP strategy

The government of Canada is providing a grant to encourage the development of IP legal clinics within Canadian law schools as part of its comprehensive IP Strategy. The grant will help make pro bono or low cost IP legal services more accessible to Canadian businesses, creators, entrepreneurs and innovators.  Clinics may be solely dedicated to IP or feature an IP component. Funding may be used to help establish a new clinic or to enhance the services available in an existing clinic.

Applicants are encouraged to consider proposals supporting networking and community building in university IP clinics, the sharing of experiences and best practices and the development of tools that can be shared across and adapted by institutions to meet the needs of their clinics.

Relationship between the IP legal clinics program and the IP strategy

The IP Strategy is aimed at helping Canadian businesses, creators, entrepreneurs and innovators better understand, protect and commercialize their IP. IP legal clinics help further this objective by providing Canadians with more affordable access to IP education and advice.

Eligibility

Who is eligible for the IP legal clinics program

Eligible recipients are law school clinics (established or developing) that are part of a provincially accredited Canadian law school. These can include those associated with registered trademark and/or patent agents or lawyers practicing IP.

Funding

Available funding

There is a total of $200,000 in funding available per fiscal year.

Funding can only be used to support expenses incurred in the fiscal year for which funding has been provided.

Applications may be filed on an individual basis (i.e.by a single institution) or jointly (i.e. by multiple institutions working collaboratively on a project). While clinics are eligible to receive up to a maximum amount of $100, 000 each in any fiscal year, in the case of a jointly filed application the total grant may not exceed $100, 000.

Eligibile activities and expenditures

Eligible activities

Eligible activities are those relating to the delivery of pro bono or low cost IP services. They may include: activities supportive of the goals of the IP Strategy, outreach to serve traditionally underrepresented IP rights holders, training, the development of best practices manuals and events such as symposia between legal clinics and experts to provide networking opportunities and increase clinic capacity.

Eligible expenditures

Eligible expenditures are those required to carry out the eligible activities under the IP Legal Clinics Program. They must be necessary to achieve the objectives for which program funding was granted. They may include items such as: database subscriptions; travel; and staffing (e.g. research assistant costs).

Eligible expenditures must be incurred within Canada in the fiscal year for which funding has been provided.

Ineligible expenditures

Ineligible expenditures include items such as: land and building acquisitions or leasing; renovation, construction or real estate costs; financing charges; legal fees; interest payments on loans; goods and services received through donations or in kind; property taxes; and lobbyist fees.

The application process

How to apply

Applicants are required to submit an IP Legal Clinics Program Application Form. The form may be requested at the following address:  ic.ipstrategy-strategieenmatieredepi.ic@canada.ca.

The application must include:

If the legal clinic is associated with a lawyer, registered trademark agent or registered patent agent, an attestation by the lawyer or agent is required detailing the nature of their relationship with the clinic and demonstrating proof of good standing.

Deadline to apply

A submission deadline will be set at the beginning of each funding period. If funding remains available after the deadline has passed, a second opportunity for applications may be provided prior to the end of the fiscal year.

Additional information

Submitted applications will be reviewed by a selection committee. If any additional information is required in order to complete the assessment of an application, the program will contact applicants directly.

Selection criteria

The Selection Committee will assess applications using a qualitative and quantitative methodology to evaluate merit, feasibility and benefits for businesses, creators, entrepreneurs and innovators.

The assessment will take into account the following factors: the extent to which the proposed project will support the IP Strategy; the applicant's management, technological and financial capabilities to carry out the project; and the applicant's post-project commitment (i.e. how the project will contribute to the sustainability of the applicant's clinic and/or clinics in other universities in the future).

Grants will be awarded on the basis of the nature of the proposed activity and will be proportionate to that activity.

Notification

All successful and unsuccessful applicants will be contacted in writing once the selection process has been completed. Successful applicants will then receive a grant agreement for review and signature prior to the transfer of funds.

Payment

How payment will be made

All payments under the IP Legal Clinics Program will be made in the form of a grant. If equal to or under $50,000, payments will be made in the form of a single grant. If over 50,000, payments will be made in two installments.

How long it takes to receive payment

Once a grant agreement has been signed and a grant recipient has provided all of the necessary financial information to effect the transfer of funds, payment will be issued in accordance with the payment schedule set out in the grant agreement.

Reporting requirements

Upon completion of the project for which funding has been awarded, grant recipients are required to submit a final report which includes proof of concept and benefits achieved.

Compliance

Applicants will be required to confirm compliance (if applicable) with the following legislation:

Other sources of government funding

Any funding under the IP Legal Clinics Program must respect the Canadian government's policy on total Canadian government funding and stacking limits. Grant recipients under the IP Legal Clinics Program will therefore be required to disclose any additional government financial assistance (federal, provincial, territorial or municipal) they have requested or received towards their project. Total assistance cannot exceed 100% of total project costs.

Contact us

For additional information on the IP Legal Clinics Program, please contact us via email at the following address: ic.ipstrategy-strategieenmatieredepi.ic@canada.ca.

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Guide pour le programme de cliniques juridiques sur la propriété intellectuelle (PI)

De : Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada

Version PDF

Table des matières

Le programme de cliniques juridiques sur la PI et la Stratégie en matière de PI

Le gouvernement du Canada accorde une subvention pour favoriser l'établissement de cliniques juridiques sur la PI dans les écoles de droit canadiennes dans le cadre de sa Stratégie en matière de PI. La subvention permettra aux entreprises, aux créateurs, aux entrepreneurs et aux innovateurs canadiens d'avoir accès à des services juridiques en PI gratuits ou à faible coût. Les cliniques peuvent se consacrer entièrement à la PI ou comporter une composante de PI. Le financement peut servir à établir une nouvelle clinique ou à améliorer les services offerts dans une clinique existante.

Les demandeurs sont encouragés à considérer les propositions favorisant le réseautage et la création de communautés dans les cliniques en PI universitaires, le partage d'expériences et de meilleures pratiques et la mise au point d'outils pouvant être partagés et adaptés par les institutions pour répondre aux besoins de leurs cliniques.

Lien entre le programme de cliniques juridiques sur la PI et la Stratégie en matière de PI

La Stratégie en matière de PI vise à aider les entreprises, les créateurs, les entrepreneurs et les innovateurs canadiens à mieux comprendre, protéger et commercialiser leur PI. Les cliniques juridiques sur la PI contribuent à la réalisation de cet objectif en offrant aux Canadiens un accès plus abordable à l'éducation et aux conseils en matière de PI.

Admissibilité

Qui est admissible au programme de cliniques juridiques sur la PI

Toutes les cliniques des écoles de droit (déjà établies ou en développement) qui font partie d'une école de droit canadienne accréditée par une province sont admissibles. Cela peut comprendre les cliniques associées à des agents de marques de commerce et/ou de brevets agréés ou à des avocats qui pratiquent dans le domaine de la PI.

Financement

Financement disponible

Un financement total de 200 000 $ est disponible par exercice financier.

Le financement ne peut servir qu'à couvrir les dépenses engagées au cours de l'exercice pour lequel le financement a été accordé.

Les demandes peuvent être déposées individuellement (c.-à-d. par un seul établissement) ou conjointement (c.-à-d. par plusieurs établissements travaillant en collaboration sur un projet). Bien que les cliniques soient admissibles à recevoir un montant maximal de 100 000 $ chacune au cours d'un exercice financier, dans le cas d'une demande présentée conjointement, la subvention totale ne peut dépasser 100 000 $.

Activités et dépenses admissibles

Activités admissibles

Les activités admissibles sont celles qui ont trait à la prestation de services de PI gratuits ou à faible coût. Il peut s'agir d'activités venant à l'appui de la réalisation des objectifs de la Stratégie en matière de PI, d'activités de sensibilisation destinées à servir les titulaires de droits de PI traditionnellement sous-représentés, de formation, d'élaboration de manuels de pratiques exemplaires et d'événements tels que des colloques réunissant des cliniques juridiques et experts pour offrir des possibilités de réseautage et renforcer les capacités des cliniques.

Dépenses admissibles

Les dépenses admissibles sont celles qui sont nécessaires à l'exécution des activités admissibles dans le cadre du programme de cliniques juridiques sur la PI. Elles doivent être nécessaires pour atteindre les objectifs pour lesquels le financement du programme a été accordé. Il peut s'agir d'abonnements à des bases de données, de frais de déplacement et de dotation en personnel (p. ex. coûts des assistants de recherche).

Les dépenses admissibles doivent être engagées au Canada au cours de l'exercice pour lequel le financement a été accordé.

Dépenses non admissibles

Les dépenses non admissibles comprennent des éléments tels que l'acquisition ou la location de terrains et d'immeubles, les coûts de rénovation, de construction ou de biens immobiliers, les frais de financement, les frais juridiques, les paiements d'intérêts sur les prêts, les biens et services reçus en dons ou en nature, les taxes foncières et les honoraires des lobbyistes.

Le processus de demande

Comment présenter une demande

Les demandeurs doivent soumettre un formulaire de demande pour le programme de cliniques juridiques sur la PI. Un courriel peut être envoyé à l'adresse suivante pour obtenir une copie du formulaire : ic.ipstrategy-strategieenmatieredepi.ic@canada.ca.
La demande doit comprendre :

Si la clinique juridique est associée à un avocat, à un agent de marques de commerce agréé ou à un agent de brevets agréé, une attestation de l'avocat ou de l'agent agréé est requise pour décrire la nature de sa relation avec la clinique et démontrer qu'il est en règle.

Date limite pour présenter une demande

Une date limite de présentation de demandes sera fixée au début de chaque période de financement. Si des fonds demeurent disponibles après la date limite, un deuxième appel de demandes peut être lancé avant la fin de l'exercice financier.

Information additionnelle

Les demandes soumises seront examinées par un comité de sélection. Si des renseignements supplémentaires sont nécessaires pour terminer l'évaluation d'une demande, les responsables du programme communiqueront directement avec les demandeurs.

Critères de sélection

Le comité de sélection évaluera les demandes à l'aide d'une méthodologie qualitative et quantitative pour évaluer le mérite, la faisabilité et les avantages pour les entreprises, les créateurs, les entrepreneurs et les innovateurs.

L'évaluation tiendra compte des facteurs suivants : la mesure dans laquelle le projet proposé appuiera la Stratégie en matière de PI; les capacités technologiques, financières et de gestion du demandeur pour réaliser le projet; et l'engagement du demandeur après le projet (c.-à-d. comment le projet contribuera à la viabilité de la clinique du demandeur et/ou d'autres universités dans l'avenir).

Les subventions seront octroyées en fonction de la nature de l'activité proposée et seront proportionnées à cette activité.

Avis

Tous les demandeurs retenus et non retenus seront contactés par écrit une fois le processus de sélection terminé. Les bénéficiaires retenus recevront ensuite un accord de subvention aux fins d'examen et de signature avant le transfert des fonds.

Paiement

Comment le paiement sera-t-il effectué?

Tous les paiements effectués dans le cadre du programme de cliniques juridiques sur la PI seront versés sous la forme d'une subvention. Si le montant est égal ou inférieur à 50 000 $, le paiement sera effectué sous la forme d'une seule subvention. Si le montant est supérieur à 50 000 $, le paiement sera effectué en deux versements.

Combien faut-il de temps avant de recevoir les paiements?

Une fois qu'un accord de subvention a été signé et qu'un bénéficiaire de subvention a fourni tous les renseignements financiers nécessaires pour effectuer le transfert des fonds, le paiement sera effectué conformément au calendrier de paiement établi dans l'accord de subvention.

Exigences en matière de rapports

À la fin du projet pour lequel des fonds ont été accordés, les bénéficiaires de subventions sont tenus de soumettre un rapport final qui comprend une validation de principe et les avantages obtenus.

Conformité

Les demandeurs devront confirmer qu'ils se conforment (s'il y a lieu) à la législation suivante :

Autres sources de financement gouvernemental

Tout financement accordé dans le cadre du programme de cliniques juridiques sur la PI doit respecter la politique du gouvernement du Canada sur le financement total du gouvernement canadien et les limites de cumul. Les bénéficiaires d'une subvention dans le cadre du programme de cliniques juridiques sur la PI seront donc tenus de divulguer toute aide financière gouvernementale supplémentaire (fédérale, provinciale, territoriale ou municipale) qu'ils ont demandée ou reçue pour leur projet. L'aide totale ne doit pas excéder 100 % des coûts totaux du projet.

Pour nous joindre

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur le programme de cliniques juridiques sur la PI, veuillez communiquer avec nous par courriel à l'adresse suivante : ic.ipstrategy-strategieenmatieredepi.ic@canada.ca.

Date de modification :