Introduction to Intellectual Property Rights and the Protection of Indigenous Knowledge and Cultural Expressions in Canada

From: Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada

This information is also available in:

The relationship between intellectual property (IP) and the protection of Indigenous knowledge and cultural expressions is complex and challenging. The following is intended to provide an overview to stimulate and inform broader policy discussions in Canada.

Indigenous Knowledge and Cultural Expressions

Although there are no universally accepted definitions of Indigenous knowledge and cultural expressions, within international IP discussions, the terms generally used are traditional knowledge (TK) and traditional cultural expressions (TCEs). TK generally refers to the know-how, skills, innovations and practices developed by Indigenous peoples related to biodiversity, agriculture, health and craftsmanship. TCEs generally refer to tangible and intangible forms in which TK and culture are expressed and may include oral stories, artwork, handicrafts, dances, fabric, songs or ceremonies. It is also recognized that TK and TCEs can be collectively held and may evolve and change over time as they are passed down from generation to generation.

Existing Intellectual Property Protections

IP generally refers to creations of the mind, including inventions, literary and artistic works, designs and symbols, and names and images used in business. IP rights, which include patents, trademarks, copyright, industrial designs, geographical indications, and trade secrets, provide rightsholders with economic and moral rights over their creations and innovations, often for a fixed period of time.

In Canada, specific laws protect IP, including the Patent Act, the Copyright Act, the Trademarks Act, the Industrial Design Act, and the Plant Breeders' Rights Act. These laws set out the different types of IP, the nature of rights, criteria for protection, scope of protection, duration, among other things. In certain circumstances, these legal tools could be leveraged to protect Indigenous knowledge and cultural expressions.

In so far as names, signs and symbols are concerned, Canadian laws protecting trademarks and relating to unfair competition may be the most relevant:

  • Several Indigenous communities, organizations, and representative bodies in Canada have registered trademarks, certification marks, official marks and authenticity labels, including the Genuine Cowichan official mark and certification mark, the Igloo Tag trademark, and the trademarked Assembly of First Nations logo.
  • These marks often relate to traditional symbols and names, and are used to identify a wide range of goods and services, ranging from traditional art and artwork to food products, clothing, tourist services and enterprises run by Indigenous communities.

As many cultural expressions are literary and artistic works and performances, copyright and related rights may be relevant for their protection: 

  • Protections available under the Copyright Act are used by Indigenous artists, performers, composers and writers for tradition-based creations such as wood masks and totem pole carvings of Pacific coast artists, jewelry, Inuit sculptures, and songs and sound recordings of Indigenous artists. There may also be scope for Indigenous communities and businesses to protect Indigenous knowledge as a trade secret pursuant to contracts and non-disclosure agreements.

Potential Gaps and Barriers

It is important to recognize that the IP associated with artistic and innovative creations has been an area of concern and challenge for Indigenous creators, innovators and communities.

Indigenous knowledge and the IP system are based on different worldviews and approaches, recognizing that neither is monolithic or all-encompassing. Mechanisms for the protection of IP are based on protecting the rights of identified individual creators and innovators over their creations and innovations that exist in physical format; this is not easily adapted to protecting collectively-owned TK or TCEs of significance to communities, dating back generations. Such differences result in potential gaps where the protections under the formal IP system do not extend to some types of Indigenous knowledge and cultural expressions. Indigenous peoples may also find that barriers hinder their use of the formal IP system. Some of these potential gaps and barriers include:

  • formal IP protection often requires the identification of a known individual creator(s) or inventor(s) in order to determine the holders of the IP rights. The very concept of "ownership" in the IP-context may contrast with Indigenous notions of "ownership" of Indigenous knowledge and cultural expressions;
  • Indigenous knowledge and cultural expressions may not meet IP standards of "originality" such as required under copyright law, or "novelty" under patent and industrial design law;
  • the requirement that an idea needs to take on a fixed form (e.g., in a book or sound recording) to be protected under existing copyright laws, may prevent the protection of intangible Indigenous knowledge and cultural expressions that are transmitted or shared orally;
  • innovations based on Indigenous knowledge may be eligible for protection under existing IP frameworks, but not the underlying knowledge itself;
  • the limited term of protection for some IP, such as copyright, industrial designs and patents, would not protect Indigenous knowledge and cultural expressions indefinitely, and the limited term of protection may require certainty as to the date of its creation or first publication, which is often unknown;
  • the costs and complex processes for registration, renewal and enforcement of IP rights have been identified by some as obstacles to the use of the IP system; and
  • exceptions and limitations typically found in IP laws may not be considered to be suitable for Indigenous knowledge and cultural expressions, particularly if it is considered to be sacred.

Non-IP laws and programs dealing with the safeguarding and promotion of intangible heritage can also play a useful role in complementing laws dealing with IP protection. This could include, for example, the effective use of contractual arrangements and the development of local mechanisms within communities to control and protect Indigenous knowledge.

Looking Forward

In spring 2018, the Minister of Innovation, Science and Economic Development announced an Intellectual Property Strategy as part of Canada's Innovation and Skills Plan.  Complementary to the Government's commitments to reconciliation, implementation of the United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples (UNDRIP) and the recognition of Indigenous rights, the IP Strategy seeks to further support Indigenous peoples' IP knowledge and awareness through initiatives, led by and in partnership with Indigenous peoples, focused on education, awareness-raising and capacity-building. It also seeks to provide opportunities for Indigenous peoples to advocate their interests through engagement activities, increased participation in domestic and international discussions on IP, Indigenous knowledge and cultural expressions, and to explore options to make the IP system more inclusive and accessible to Indigenous peoples.

Please visit the Indigenous Peoples and Intellectual Property webpage for more information.

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Introduction aux droits de propriété intellectuelle et à la protection du savoir et des expressions culturelles autochtones au Canada

De : Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada

La relation entre la propriété intellectuelle (PI) et la protection du savoir et des expressions culturelles autochtones est complexe et difficile. Le présent document vise à donner un aperçu afin de stimuler et d'éclairer des discussions stratégiques plus vastes au Canada.

Savoir et expressions culturelles autochtones

Bien qu'il n'existe pas de définition universellement acceptée du savoir et des expressions culturelles autochtones, les termes généralement utilisés dans les discussions internationales sur la PI sont le savoir traditionnel (ST) et les expressions culturelles traditionnelles (ECT). ST fait généralement référence au savoir-faire, aux compétences, aux innovations et aux pratiques élaborées par les peuples autochtones en matière de biodiversité, d'agriculture, de santé et de savoir-faire artisanal. ECT désignent généralement les formes matérielles et immatérielles dans lesquelles le ST et la culture sont exprimés et peuvent comprendre des récits oraux, des œuvres d'art, de l'artisanat, des danses, des tissus, des chants ou des cérémonies. On reconnaît également que le ST et les ECT peuvent être détenus collectivement et évoluer et changer au fil du temps, à mesure qu'ils sont transmis de génération en génération.

Mesures existantes de protection de la propriété intellectuelle  

La PI désigne en général les créations de l'esprit, y compris les inventions, les œuvres littéraires et artistiques, les dessins et les symboles, les noms et les images dont on fait usage dans le commerce. Les droits de PI, qui comprennent les brevets, les marques de commerce, les droits d'auteur, les dessins industriels, les indications géographiques et les secrets commerciaux, confèrent aux titulaires de droits des droits économiques et moraux en ce qui a trait à leurs créations et innovations, souvent pour une période déterminée.

Au Canada, des lois particulières protègent la PI, notamment la Loi sur les brevets, la Loi sur le droit d'auteur, la Loi sur les marques de commerce, la Loi sur les dessins industriels et la Loi sur la protection des obtentions végétales. Ces lois définissent les différents types de PI, la nature des droits, les critères de protection, l'étendue de la protection, la durée, etc. Dans certaines circonstances, ces outils juridiques pourraient être utilisés pour protéger le savoir et les expressions culturelles autochtones.

En ce qui concerne les noms, les signes et les symboles, les lois canadiennes protégeant les marques de commerce et relatives à la concurrence déloyale peuvent être les plus pertinentes :

  • Plusieurs collectivités, organisations et organismes représentatifs autochtones du Canada ont enregistré des marques de commerce, des marques de certification, des marques officielles et des étiquettes de certificat d'authenticité, y compris la marque officielle et la marque de certification Genuine Cowichan, l'étiquette Igloo et le logo déposé de l'Assemblée des Premières Nations.
  • Ces marques se rapportent souvent à des symboles et des noms traditionnels et sont utilisées pour identifier un large éventail de biens et de services, par exemple de l'art traditionnel, des œuvres d'art traditionnelles, des produits alimentaires, des vêtements, des services touristiques et des entreprises dirigées par les collectivités autochtones.

Comme de nombreuses expressions culturelles sont des œuvres et des prestations littéraires et artistiques, le droit d'auteur et les droits connexes peuvent être pertinents pour leur protection : 

  • Les protections offertes en vertu de la Loi sur le droit d'auteur sont utilisées par les artistes, interprètes, compositeurs et écrivains autochtones pour des créations s'inspirant des traditions, comme les masques en bois et les sculptures de mâts totémiques d'artistes de la côte du Pacifique, les bijoux, les sculptures inuites et les chants et enregistrements sonores des artistes autochtones. Les collectivités et les entreprises autochtones peuvent aussi avoir la possibilité de protéger le savoir autochtone en tant que secret commercial aux termes de contrats et d'ententes de non-divulgation.

Lacunes et obstacles possibles

Il est important de reconnaître que la PI associée aux créations artistiques et novatrices est un sujet de préoccupation et un défi pour les créateurs, les innovateurs et les collectivités autochtones.

Le savoir autochtone et le système de PI reposent sur des visions du monde et des approches différentes, compte tenu du fait que ni l'un ni l'autre n'est monolithique ou global. Les mécanismes de protection de la PI reposent sur la protection des droits des créateurs et des innovateurs individuels identifiés en ce qui a trait à leurs créations et innovations qui existent sur support matériel; il n'est pas facile d'adapter ces mécanismes à la protection du ST ou des ECT appartenant à la collectivité qui sont importants pour les communautés depuis des générations. De telles différences entraînent des lacunes potentielles lorsque les protections prévues par le système officiel de PI ne s'étendent pas à certains types de savoir et d'expressions culturelles autochtones. Les peuples autochtones peuvent également constater que des obstacles entravent leur utilisation du système officiel de PI. Les lacunes et obstacles possibles comprennent ce qui suit :

  • La protection officielle de la PI exige souvent l'identification d'un ou de plusieurs créateurs ou inventeurs individuels connus afin de déterminer les titulaires des droits de PI. Le concept même de « propriété » dans le contexte de la PI peut différer des notions autochtones de « propriété » relativement au savoir et aux expressions culturelles autochtones;
  • Le savoir et les expressions culturelles autochtones pourraient ne pas respecter les normes « d'originalité » de la propriété intellectuelle, comme l'exigent les lois sur le droit d'auteur, ou de « nouveauté », conformément aux lois sur les brevets et les dessins industriels;
  • L'exigence qu'une idée doit avoir une forme fixe (p. ex. dans un livre ou un enregistrement sonore) pour être protégée en vertu des lois existantes sur le droit d'auteur peut empêcher la protection du savoir et des expressions culturelles autochtones immatérielles qui sont transmis ou communiqués oralement;
  • Les innovations fondées sur le savoir autochtone peuvent être admissibles à une protection conformément aux cadres de PI existants, mais pas le savoir sous-jacent en soi;
  • La durée limitée de la protection de certains droits de PI, tels que le droit d'auteur, les dessins industriels et les brevets, ne protégerait pas indéfiniment le savoir et les expressions culturelles autochtones, et la durée limitée de la protection peut exiger une certitude quant à la date de sa création ou première publication, qui est souvent inconnue;
  • Les coûts et les processus complexes d'enregistrement, de renouvellement et d'application des droits de PI ont été cernés par certains comme des obstacles à l'utilisation du système de PI;
  • Les exceptions et les limites que l'on trouve généralement dans les lois sur la PI peuvent ne pas être considérées comme étant appropriées pour le savoir et les expressions culturelles autochtones, en particulier s'ils sont jugés sacrés.

Les lois et programmes non liés à la PI qui traitent de la sauvegarde et de la promotion du patrimoine culturel immatériel peuvent également jouer un rôle utile pour compléter les lois relatives à la protection de la PI. Cela pourrait inclure, par exemple, l'utilisation efficace d'arrangements contractuels et l'élaboration de mécanismes locaux au sein des collectivités pour contrôler et protéger le savoir autochtone.

Regard vers l'avenir

Au printemps 2018, le ministre de l'Innovation, des Sciences et du Développement économique a annoncé une stratégie de propriété intellectuelle dans le cadre du Plan pour l'innovation et les compétences du Canada. En complément des engagements pris par le gouvernement à l'égard de la réconciliation, de la mise en œuvre de la Déclaration des Nations Unies sur les droits des peuples autochtones (DNUDPA), et de la reconnaissance des droits des Autochtones, la stratégie de propriété intellectuelle vise à soutenir davantage les connaissances et la sensibilisation des peuples autochtones en la matière par l'entremise d'initiatives, menées par les peuples autochtones et en partenariat avec eux, axées sur l'éducation, la sensibilisation et le renforcement des capacités. Elle vise également à donner aux peuples autochtones l'occasion de défendre leurs intérêts grâce à des activités de mobilisation, à une participation accrue aux discussions nationales et internationales sur la PI, au savoir et aux expressions culturelles autochtones, ainsi qu'à explorer les options pour rendre le système de PI plus inclusif et accessible pour les peuples autochtones.

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez consulter le site Web sur les Autochtones et propriété intellectuelle.

Date de modification :